Papa Razzi | New England

Papa Razzi is a modern Italian trattoria, featureing made-to-order signature pasta dishes, ultra thin-crust pizzas, seafood specials and desserts. For celiacs, Papa Razzi offers gluten free ziti as a substitute in any of their regular pasta dishes, gluten free versions of their pizzas, and gluten free bread to begin your meal. Along with their gluten free specialties, all entrees are made to order and can be altered to meet your gluten free needs.

Locations across New England…

My Favorites:
Cesare Salad
Insalata di charles
Puttanesca Pizza
Cavatappi Affumicati
Pollo Piccata

Nebo | North End, Boston


Nebo is my #1 pick for gluten free Italian food in Boston.

Opened in June of 2005, nebo is an upscale Italian restaurant and enoteca (wine bar) located in the heart of Boston’s North End. Born in Boston’s culturally rich North End neighborhood, chef/owners Carla and Christine Pallotta stand inspired by their mother’s and grandmother’s classic Italian recipes as well as their travels throughout Italy and other European regions. Most importantly, they offer an extensive gluten free menu that is almost identical to their regular menu.

Here’s what you can expect:
-Unprompted, the hostess will ask if anyone in your party needs a gluten free menu
-When you’re seated, your server will ask if anyone in your party has food allergies
-You will be overwhelmed by the number of gluten free options
-Your food will be delicious
-You will go home very full, and very happy


Here’s what I have eaten.. yumm yummm

Antipasti
piatto di formaggi- selection of italian cheeses
sale e pepe- sea salt, white peppercorn, marinated chicken wings, pepper rings
Burrata- cream filled mozzarella, proscuitto di parma, balsamic fig glaze

Insalate
Cesare- romaine hearts, anchovies,  caesar dressing

Secondi
pollo alla limone- sautéed chicken, capers, artichoke hearts, lemon butter sauce
cappesante- seared sea scallops, light mascarpone cream sauce

Dessert
(not on the menu, but ask for it!) A flourless chocolate cake with walnuts and pistachios, topped off with ice cream.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The secret to gluten free pasta…

There are a variety of gluten free pasta’s out there; some made from corn, many from rice, and a few from quinoa.

-I like the quinoa brands best; the texture is most akin to real pasta and it holds up well left over. But the most common gluten free pasta is made from rice and can be found at most grocery stores.

When cooking rice pasta you might notice that it has a slimy texture. To fix this, I always quickly rinse my pasta in water right after I strain it.

And voilaaa.. no more slimy texture.

Enjoy your delicious gluten free pasta!

Pizza Pizza Pizza

So, we all miss pizza, and we all know gluten free pizza is not the best…

But for gluten free pizza, this takes the cake, or, the pie...

I use Kinnikinnick personal size pizza crusts. You can buy them in the Natural Foods section at Stop and Shop, and other common grocery stores. They say to keep them frozen, but I like to use them straight out of the fridge.

  • Line a pan with tinfoil
  • Drizzle some olive oil across the pan
  • Place your pizza crust on top
  • Load it up with your favorite sauce, cheese, and veggies
  • Cook at 450-475 degrees until the cheese is slightly brown and crispy (~15 minutes)

My Italian sandwich: The GF bread tastes good, I swear!


This is my favorite sandwich!

I always toast my gluten free bread, it makes a huge difference in texture and taste. I toast it with the cheese on, but the rest of the ingredients go on cold…

Gluten Free Bread – I used Udi’s, and I think it is the best gluten free bread out there. You can get it at Whole Foods, Roche Brothers, and most other large grocery stores.
Prosciutto – I buy Citterio All natural Proscitutto  in bulk form BJ’s cause I love it and eat it all day…
Havarti Cheese- I used Dofina Havarti from BJ’s. Just make sure your cheese is prepackaged, meaning it is not cut on the deli machine.
Roasted Red Peppers- Most are GF but check the labels for additives. I used Mezzetta Roasted Bell Peppers.
Fresh Basil- From my “garden” (aka a potted plant in my kitchen).
Mayonnaise - Hellman’s is gluten free (I only use a little…)
Balsamic Vinegar- I used a Trader Joe’s brand. Most Balsamic is safe, but always check the label!

Restaurants you can trust

This is a list of the restaurants that I have eaten at myself, and I know are trustworthy.

I am sure there are other trust worthy restaurants out there as well, but I only want to list the ones I can vouch for myself… I will keep adding as I keep eating!

Want to add to this list? Leave a comment below and include a review of your favorite gluten free spots!

 

Does hard alcohol contain gluten?

Most alcohol starts as a “neutral grain spirit”.  This is created by mixing together various grains (i.e. barley, rye, corn, wheat) adding water, and heating the mixture to very specific temperatures.

It is said that the distilling process removes glutenous proteins, but I have found that many people with gluten intolerance/celiac still react strongly to hard liquors. Personally, I think its safe to stick with alcohol made from a unique base – such as potatoes, berries, agave, etc. This includes alcohols such as Chopin (potato vodka), Ciroc (grape), and any Tequila (Agave).

Always consult your gastroenterologist or dietitian when making these choices!

Drinking Gluten Free

No longer drink Bud Lights and play beer pong with your friends?

If you are 21 and hitting up the bars, here are your drink options:

Cider-  Woodchuck, Original Sin, Magners…(I suggest ALWAYS doing bottle over tap – much safer)

(Most) Tequila-  It is made from agave.

Wine & Champagne

Potato Vodka- Chopin (most common), Cold River, Luksusowa…etc

Ciroc- P Diddy’s vodka made from grapes; the coconut flavor is delicious.

If you are at a bar you will probably only have the option of cider, wine, or tequila. If you are out at a nightclub there is a chance you will find a potato vodka or Ciroc.

A lot of people with Celiac say that they can handle gin because it’s made with juniper berries. (I took this advice and spent a very sick summer drinking just gin) I don’t suggest it! It is made with juniper berries, along with other ingredients, and is often made from a glutenous base.

 Learn more about gluten and alcohol.

What is Celiac Disease?

Celiac disease is an autoimmune disorder in which the body mistakenly reacts to gluten, a protein found in wheat, barley and rye, as if it were a poison.

It affects one in 133 people, although most have not been diagnosed.

When someone with celiac disease consumes gluten their immune system reacts by destroying the part of the small intestine that absorbs vital nutrients. This malabsorption can lead to serious illness.

To learn more about the affects of Celiac disease visit Gluten Free Living. Gluten Free Living is a great magazine for people suffering from Celiac disease and I suggest  it specifically because is very reliable, informative, and you don’t need to be a subscriber to access their online content .

Pissa-stachio Brownies – Wicked good!

Pistachio Brownies:

This is a recipe from back in my flour eating days – but, luckily, it is one of the only recipes I have that is just as delicious using rice flour!

Ingredients: 

  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1tsp baking
  • 1.5 cups rice flour
  • 1 package of Instant pistachio pudding
  • 2/3 cup oil
  • 1.5 cup of sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/2 cups chocolate chips

Mix oil sugar and egg together first, then add the remaining ingredients – it will have a very chewy gooey consistency.

Grease and (rice) flour a 13×9 inch pan

350 degrees

Metal pan: 20-25 minutes
Glass pan: 15-20 minutes